Monday, January 25, 2010

Solar System Quiz

Our solar system consists of one central star, the Sun
The Solar System have nine planets named Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto
Our solar system consists of more than 60 moons
Our solar system consists of millions of rocky asteroids
Our solar system consists of billions of icy comets
The solar system is said to be over 5 billion years old.
Planets are different in sizes and colors. The four planets closer to the Sun are called ‘rocky’ planets.
Only two planets have (Earth and Mars) have moons
The asteroid belt is a zone between the orbits of Mars and Jupiter.
Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn can be seen with the naked eye (Without telescope or binoculars)
Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars are called ‘rocky’ or’ terrestial’ planets.
`Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune are called the gaseous planets.
Jupiter and Saturn contain the largest percentages of hydrogen and helium, while Uranus and Neptune contain largest shares of ices, frozen water, ammonia, methane, and carbon monoxide.
The four gas giants, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune, have rings.
Hubble is one of the worlds most powerful telescopes.
The Sun is too bright for the Hubble Space Telescope to observe.
The sun is 330330 times larger than the earth.
The earth began billions of years ago as a huge ball of swirling dust and gases.
Earth is only known planet where life began on 600 million years ago.

No comments:

design by: amdg